For Immediate Release: Thursday, January 14, 2021

NARAL condemns the five Republican members of Georgia’s Congressional delegation whose refusal to accept the results of the 2020 presidential election helped to incite the 1/6/21 attack on the U.S. Capitol

Georgia Last week, five members of Georgia’s Congressional delegation joined over 100 fellow Republicans in the U.S. House of Representatives in drawing on baseless conspiracies about voter fraud to vote to overturn the presidential election results in Arizona and Pennsylvania, blatantly defying the will of the tens of millions of Americans who cast their ballots for President-elect Joe Biden. By challenging the results of the 2020 election without any evidence and elevating dangerous conspiracy theories, these members played a clear role in inciting the violent 1/6/21 attack on the U.S. Capitol led by armed pro-Trump white supremacists. 

In response, NARAL Pro-Choice Georgia Director Laura Simmons released the following statement: 

“Every member of Congress who aided and abetted Trump’s plot to undermine our democracy and overturn the results of the presidential election has blood on their hands. There is no doubt that their peddling of baseless conspiracy theories and refusal to accept Trump’s defeat at the ballot box played a direct role in fanning the flames that led to last week’s violent insurrection at the U.S. Capitol, putting their colleagues and our democracy in danger. There is no place in Congress for white nationalist sympathizers. The five members of Georgia’s Congressional delegation who participated in this attack on our democracy are unfit to serve. We are ashamed to hail from the same state as these so-called leaders and call for their immediate removal from office, either via their resignation or, if necessary, expulsion from Congress. Our societyand our democracycannot move forward until these traitors are held accountable for this unprecedented betrayal.” 

The five members of Georgia’s Congressional delegation who voted to overturn the election results include: Reps. Buddy Carter (CD-01), Jody Hice (CD-10), Barry Loudermilk (CD-11), Rick Allen (CD-12), and QAnon supporter Marjorie Taylor Greene (CD-14). 

In footage taken during last week’s attack in the Congressional “safe room,” Taylor Greene and other Republican members can be seen refusing to wear masks being passed around to limit the spread of COVID-19. Since last Wednesday, at least four Democratic members of Congress who also were in the safe room have been diagnosed with COVID-19. 

Just yesterday, Taylor Greene announced her plans to file articles of impeachment against President-elect Joe Biden. On the same day, Taylor Greene joined 196 of her fellow Republicans in the U.S. House of Representatives to vote against impeaching Trump for a second time. 


For over 50 years, NARAL Pro-Choice America and its network of state affiliates and chapters have fought to protect and advance reproductive freedom—including access to abortion, contraception, and paid family leave—for every body. NARAL is powered by its more than 2.5 million members from every state and congressional district in the country, representing the 7 in 10 Americans who believe every person should have the freedom to make the best decision for themselves about if, when, and how to raise a family. 

Back to News